Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe this isn't the right place to post this but since it's sort of a follow up to something discussed here earlier--

Did my testing this AM with regards to, if you jam a condition one'd 1911 into, ah, something, muzzle first, as in a desperate scuffle where you can't quite get it off safe and trigger a shot, will the safety break or bend from the rearward force on the slide. This test was certainly not very scientific, but it's a start.

Old, cracked PO frame and old slide, old thumb safety. I started out by jamming it into the wall horizontally. It soon became evident that a really meaningful blow might hurt (thanks for the wrist-wrapping advice, Dane). I took it to the wire spool I use as a shooting table and started bringing it down vertically. Pretty soon I was more or less swinging it by the trigger guard to get up some speed. Then I graduated to putting it muzzle-down on the table and hitting the back of the frame with a Dead Blow hammer (small).

In the below pics you can see by the dents in the table that I hit it maybe 75 times, and fairly hard. In this instance it did not break or deform the safety, the slide, nor even the alloy frame, although the crack in the frame went the rest of the way through on the left side. I though about duct-taping a broomstick up the mag chute to see just how far I could go, but I think it would have broken the frame in two, and I do use it as a cutaway sometimes.

Anyhoo-- I think that if it's absolutely the only option, you can strike with the muzzle and have a pretty good chance of the pistol remaining operational.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Ned Christiansen on 2001-08-09 15:05 ]</font>

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Ned Christiansen on 2001-08-09 15:06 ]</font>

·
Registered
720 Posts