Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no expert by any means, but the following is my opinion (I've been carrying and shooting handguns for the last 36 years.... the 45ACP since 1968).

Reliability and Penetration are the top 2 priorities for serious use 45ACP ammo.

Regarding Reliability:
THE most important consideration! Throat, polish and tune gun and magazines all you want (all my Colts are tuned and polished).... sure it increases reliability, but, in the worst case engagement scenarios the gun can become "degraded", contaminated with foreign material (sand/mud), mag lips can get bent from dropping, etc. GI spec. FMJ ammo will always have a better chance of feeding under these less-than-ideal conditions. As a side note, if you choose to carry one of the Colt copies, open up the chamber to proper/original design dimensions! Those tight chambers definitely have a negative effect on combat reliability.

Penetration:
The bullets need to reach the target (vitals of the adversary), and I also want exit wounds to increase blood flow from the body. The problem with most published penetration data is that it leaves the reader with the impression that the "test penetration" is what you can expect during anti-personal use (human penetration). One needs to consider the following:

1) Gelatin penetration is about half of human body penetration on the average (at least that's my conclusion after reviewing real shooting data compared to Jelly tests).