Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
I prefer the Monadnock Auto-Lock, I like it a lot. I bought the 26", I would get the 21" if you plan on carrying it a lot. Locking system is far superior to smashing an ASP on the deck to close it. I use mine for military use, where silence might be required, but lethal force is not. No ASP training course, just limited military training, not formal, buddy is a Close Combat instructor trainer. Semper Fidelis...Ken M

·
Registered
140 Posts
I am an ASP Instructor, and I prefer it to the Monadnock product. I don't like the "loose" feeling and rattle of the Auto-Lock. As a Police Officer, I have little need for stealth in deploying an impact weapon. As a matter of fact, the sound and sight of the baton being extended has a deterrent effect on occasion. Any of the expandable straight batons are a great item. It is always with you, and is quite simply, a metal pipe. The training is very straight forward. There are no complicated maneuvers like take-downs and armlocks. ASP simply teaches six strikes. Three with an open baton, three closed. I am still certified in the use of a PR24, but that is most often left in the car. The ASP is always on my duty belt.

·
Registered
86 Posts
To each his own:) I certainly wouldn't say you're bad off with the ASP product. Only six basic strikes? Interesting. I'm just doing the informal, learn as I go thing, but I'm applying the same wrist and elbow locks that you can do with other batons with the Monadnock. Plus the straight jab with the tip(various pressure points, jugular notch in worst case) . More options, which might not be good if you wish to keep things simple(big fan of simple things that work) Semper Fidelis...Ken M

G

·
ASP Airweight 21" with Garrity semi-IWB holster for me.
I tried the magnetic tip for about three years and finally pulled it as it is not strong enough to pick up the things I needed and it scratched up pretty badly from all of the closings.

·