Pistol Smith Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
A friend of mine is contemplating the purchase of a Charter Arms Bulldog in .44 Spl. He has asked my opinion. I related that my ONLY deviation from the world of S&W and Colt DA revolvers was my brief and UGLY foray into the Taurus line. He wishes to use the Bulldog for CCW using the short barrel Buffalo Bore load designed for self defense. On paper that sounds like a good plan, BUT I have no experience with Charter Arms weapons. Are they well made and reliable ? Do they respond well to tweaking if needed by a qualified 'smith ? Are they simply junk to be avoided ? DON'T tell me that Taurus makes something comparable---he's my friend, and I WILL NOT allow him to purchase a Taurus revolver. BTW, IIRC the Bulldog was used in the infamous Son of Sam murders.......

·
Registered
1,804 Posts
Quality is on the low end of the scale.
Charter Arms quality depends on whether they're about to be bankrupt or are just out of a bankruptcy.
Jeff Cooper described the earlier Charter Arms .44 as "A good idea that lacks in the execution".
Personally, I put the Charter Arms under the Taurus in quality.

Quality isn't Saturday Night Special level, but is often just about one good step above that.
They usually go "BANG" when the trigger is pulled, but they don't respond very well to gunsmithing attempts to improve them.
Since the parts are case hardened cast steel, you can't polish them to improve the trigger without a high risk of breaking through the thin cased layer, which ruins the part.
A trigger job is limited to a spring kit, with the hope that the lighter spring kit doesn't induce ignition or trigger return problems.

In short, as long as you get one that works out of the box and doesn't break, it's a good tackle box/truck gun, and would serve as a carry much/fire very little defense gun.

·
Registered
724 Posts