Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In other forums I anounce i want to trade my nikel m1911a1 colt goverment serie's 70 cal.45 acp for a glock mod.17 and,I recive replies where my budies tried to keep me of the deal.
They have their points,however i want a glock right now,I've never had one and want to change of firearm.

My shooting budies on the net say I'm a little wako for wanting this.What do you think?

Manny

·
Registered
151 Posts
Many,
Well I may be wacky too but I have 4 Glocks along with 5 1911's and love them both. I consider the Glock a mushy single action anyway. I say get what you want. As long as your happy that all that matters. Why don't you keep both?

·
Registered
37 Posts
Hello Manny,

I have 16 years experience with the Colt Goverment Model, and I just got a Glock 17.

Here in the United States, ammunition is easily available and relatively inexpensive to private citizens. The cost of .45 ACP ball is approximately $10.00 per box of 50, and 9mm ball is about $7.00 per box.

I hear that some countries restrict certain calibers and ammo types from their citizens who are not Military or Police.

Are you in the Police or Military? Is the cost and availability of .45 ACP ammunition the reason that you are considering this trade? If not, I would stick with your Series 70 Colt. These are not being made anymore and many shooters prefer the Series 70.

Good luck with you decision.

-Mk.IV

·
Registered
503 Posts
Many wrote;
My shooting budies on the net say I'm a little wako for wanting this.What do you think?
Let me get this straight... you want to trade 1 nickel Series 70 (presumeably in excellent condition) for just 1 Glock 17...

Send me your address (says the spider to the fly) :smile: