Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am looking for a set of blueprints for a fixture to f.s checkering on a mill, or if someone has a fixture for sale or trade.i know the "big" boys do it by hand, but i am a much better machinist than an artist. please help!? thanks mike

·
Registered
345 Posts
Although Neil makes a superb fixture for checkering the front strap, there are enough dink factors present to make checkering a miserable job.
Most front straps are not uniform. If you use a radius gauge on one, you will get the point rapidly. Not only are radii ad-lib, but different manufacturers use entirely different shapes and locations.
So, Neil's fixture is not to blame for lopsided work, it is the original radius.
Uniformity of machine checkering is predicated on a uniform dimension between the surface of the outside frontstrap radius and the interior magazine well radius. If this varies even a few thousandths, the work will not be uniform. Some professionals advise welding and re-shaping or in some cases, re-contouring.
Ask yourself this: Do you really NEED a checkered frontstrap that will anchor your grip and not allow a slight shift of position during a draw?
The original GOld Cup pistols had a perfect compromise: Frontstrap grooving. Gripping down will anchor the position solidly, while a lighter grip will allow a shift.