Pistol Smith Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
This is a message geared toward the professional custom builders and smiths. I have the opportunity to enroll in (The Colorado School Of Trades) Gunsmithing program. Is this a top notch school or are there better schools than this one? I was very impressed with the environment and the well thought out and focused curriculum.

Basically what I would like to know is what type of qualifications would impress you enough to hire a 23yr old? In a trade where many are adequate, but few are great.

Any info very much appreciated, (What a great thing the internet is!!)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Very interesting, 39 views at this point and not anything to say. I hope I haven't stumbled upon some type of veiled secracy. I guess not all gunsmiths care about the next generation. Very Sad.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I have no first hand experience but 2 of my best friends went there and are EXCELENT smiths. That being said they also did 5 or so years and Pachmyer afterword and owned thier own shop.

I'd imagine it's alot like medschool...no one cares where you went...they only care about your preformance.

JMHO

Donnie

·
Registered
705 Posts
Mike,

Although I can't speak from experience, Colorado School of Trades does seem to enjoy a good reputation. Trinidad State Jr. College is another Colorado school that has a very good reputation. We have several gunsmiths here from Pennyslvania, maybe one can offer an opinion on the Pennyslvania Gunsmith School? Others here have spoken well of the program at Yavapi College in Arizona. I found a list of schools here. The author recommended Lassen Community College.

Any first hand experience or other information (advice) from fellow members would be appreciated.

DD

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Desert Dog on 2001-05-23 07:59 ]</font>

·
Registered
581 Posts