Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I have been shooting for about 4 months now, only about 1000 rds of 45 ACP, and 200 of 22cal pistol due to school responsibilities, but my last classes of my college career will be over on August 13th.

Since I have not secured a job as of yet, I will be moving home until I find a job during the fall recruiting season.

So, since I will be at home, and my sportsmen club is only 3/4 of a mile down the road from my house, I will be shooting more.

There is an IDPA club about 45 minutes north of me, and I have had the goal of shooting IDPA since I started shooting.

So, how will I know when I am ready to start IDPA? Are there any drills besides the IDPA qualifier that I can gauge my ability with that will tell me if I am ready or not?

Outdoors I can put all my shots into a 3" circle at 21 ft, pretty much the same at 35 ft, but horrible at 75 feet indoors (so much noise I flinch).

·
Registered
58 Posts
Hi Lars...one of the things that I like the best about IDPA is the way most of the people at the matches help the newcomer...Go to your local match...introduce yourself and tell them that this is the first time for you (they will be gentle. :wink:

Make sure that you understand each stage...if you don't ask the RO....they will help you...Don't worry about speed at the beginning...If you have to go really slow to get your hits...thats ok...you can only move up from where you start...

and most of all....have fun!!

Good luck
Greg

·
Registered
548 Posts
As soon as you have a holster and a couple mag pouches, a willingness to learn, you are ready for an IDPA or IPSC match.

I have given many safety classes to new shooters and they do fine. The people that don’t do well are the self proclaimed "old heads" who have been shooting guns since I was born.