Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice and this is only my second 1911. My first is a Springfield Professional model so that is all I have to compare it to. With that out of the way:

My first impression is those grips look a little too shiny and cheesy. And it looks very much like the SA. The slide to frame fit is not tight at all but is very smooth right out of the box.:grin:

When I got it home I field stripped it and saw that it was dirty from the manufacturer test firing and sighting in.(?) It did clean up quite nicely. And I even got the slide release/stop back in without scratching the slide or frame(yes I am familir with this rookie mistake). The exterior finish is nice and non reflective but seems rougher than the finish on the SA. The night sites are very nice but not as crisp as the Novak's on the SA.

I just got back from the range. I had 2 FTE's in the first 50 rounds (230 gr Speer Lawman FMJ). The remaining 450 rounds went through it slicker than hen sh!t on a pump handle. :grin: I only shot at 10 yards and the gun can certainly shoot better than I can. If I did my part I cut a single ragged hole.
The checkering was finer than the SA and therefore much easier on my sweaty hands. I used the Wilson 8 round mags from the SA and they worked flawlessly. I did not try the mag included with the GC.

I guess that's it. I just wanted to post because I was real worried with all the recent posts about the evil and bad things some other Kimbers are experiencing. I am happy with mine. Sure you shouldn't have to pay a lot of money for a firearm to work. Maybe I got lucky.

If I missed something let me know. As far as swapping out MIM parts and such, I have been advised to just shoot it if it works properly out of the box. It does. :grin:

I am going to get a holster and go to my first IDPA shoot with it next month. Of course I will shoot it more before then.