Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just made the plunge and bought a Kimber Pro CDP. I pretty much decided on either the Wilson or the McCormick Power Mags. I have been online for about 3 hours reading and enjoying everyone's direct answers and help to Kimber questions. Magazine price is not a question, total reliabilty for my family is. Thanks for your help.
Al

·
Registered
16 Posts
First, I have no experience with the CMC Power Mag but have used several of the 8 round CMC "standard" mags.
I'd think carefully before using the Power Mags in an alloy-framed gun. Power Mags still appear to use the same follower that the standard CMC mags use. In the standard mags the follower can move forward and gouge the feed ramp on your frame. What has been done to the Power Mags, besides a heavier spring, to prevent this?

·
Registered
25 Posts
I've used several Wilson 8 round mags in my PRO CDP. I haven't had any problems with them and no malfunctions with the gun. I've never tried the cheap mag that came with the gun. Don't think you will go wrong with Wilson mags.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the info. Some of the salesmen out here in Hawaii try to sell you just what they carry not necessarily what works best.

Aloha
Al

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
My thanks to everyone. I am ordering my Wilson 47D's today. I have 11 days of the "14 day waiting period" left to pick up my Kimber. I will let you know how it shoots when I get it. I can buy a rifle and shotgun today but I have to wait 14 days for my .45, that makes alot of sense.
Aloha

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·