Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
On 2001-05-18 23:31, harley45 wrote:
I'm looking for a place to get some knife defensive training.
Travel is not a real problem but i would like some recomendations on who to spend my money with.
I just pick up info and train with friends, so i don`t know personally about any schools, but Gunsite offers classes, im sure they are top notch.. -Gilmore

G

·
Harley,
I feel very comfortable in reccomending James Keatings comtech @ 1-541-938-2175.
I would also highly consider Bob Kasper and Jim Grovers courses through the Gung Ho Chuan Association @ http://www.ghca.org.
I tend to stay away from courses that recomend a folder or a 4-5" blade for defensive work and before some of our readers jump on me, (I am not speaking of having the most convinient knife at hand, I have been to some of the big name gun schools that teach defensive knife work and I have had some very inexperienced knife instructors at one highly avertised school who actually preached that a folder or 4" knife in an IWB sheath is all you need).
A large bowie knife properly balanced and designed for serious work is an excellent defensive knife, I would reccomend Bill Bagwell's Hells Belles and Ontario kinives are also making a much cheaper model that is still very good. (As an FYI I cannot post any more pictures as Webshots is down or restricting me???)

·
Registered
297 Posts
I suggest you consider http://www.insightstraining.com for their defensive folding knife class. Although I agree with David that folders are not ideal defensive knives, they are more practical for most people and they have the advantage of being allowed in most areas. Although a knife can be a devasting weapon, I think the best thing to bring to a knife encounter is a good pair of running shoes.

·
Registered
988 Posts