Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
152 Posts
A Krebs Pointman has been my daily carry gun for about a year. Mine is two-tone, hard chrome frame and Black-T slide.
Gun has Krebs' match barrel with the lug shimmed, and is the most accurate 1911 I own. Very smooth gun right out of the box, its glassy smooth after a few thousand rounds. Krebs did a very nice job of melting the edges, including beveling the underside edges of the slide. The skateboard tape inletted into the grip frame is a nice touch and works well. His prices are a bit low for work of this quality.

· Registered
669 Posts

Marc Krebs Pointman

This looks to be a no-nonsense solid pistol choice. Priced starting at $1,295 and built on a quality CMC frame and slide, it is IMO, serious competition for any of the current production customs on the market. While I have no first hand experience with the Pointman, Marc Krebs' excellent reputation for building custom 1911s is a significant endorsement -- as are the positive comments based on Tom Givens' personal experiences with his Pointman. The recessed front strap panel (w/traction tape inserts) is a bit unusual. While this would seem to be a very practical alternative to checkering, I do wonder if it would a deciding factor, where future resale is a consideration. But if the pistol is going to be a 'keeper', this is of little consequence. There is another active Krebs thread here.