Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to shooting, and most definitely to 1911s. A friend of mine introduced me to an old USGI model this evening, and it was fascinating to see everything work exactly the way I had read about it.

When I dropped the slide on a fresh mag, however, he told me that using the thumb-operated slide release would wear on the slide. So instead I just pulled the slide back and dropped it from behind.

So is that true about the slide release? Which way is the correct way?

· Registered
1,393 Posts
Welcome!!!

Your friend is NOT correct. Using the slide stop to drop the slide from lock is not only perfectly acceptable, but it is the best way to do it with a 1911.

A lot of trainers will tell you to slingshot the slide, simply because this is a gross motor skill that will not go away under stress, and the technique works for all semi-autos. If you use the 1911 exclusively, there is NOTHING wrong with releasing the slide using the slide stop. This method makes better tactical and ergonomic sense anyway. As you seat the new mag with your support hand, note that your support hand thumb is already in perfect position to release the slide with the slide stop. You are almost in a good two-hand hold anyway at this point - why would you bring the support hand back up over the slide to slingshot? Drop the slide with your thumb, assume your two hand hold and start blasting!

· Registered
8 Posts
The way to go is to use the slide stop. It is substantially faster if you worry about defensive handgunning.

I have always been taught to use the firing side thumb to drop the slide stop if you can easily reach it. You have already canted the gun to drop the magazine so you should be able to reach it. The second choice (the one I use) is to drop it with the support side thumb. If you miss it, you may might then use your support side hand to rack the slide.

· Registered
2 Posts