Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok,
So granted their really never is a "best" when it comes to gear and equipment as they can be adapted to so many variations.

To get on point, suprisingly enough I do not own a .50 BMG rifle and have recently been giving it some serious thought.

Who has them?
Any advice for this .50BMG newbie?

·
Registered
581 Posts
Depends what you want to use it for.

The best bolt gun action is a McMillian. Right bolt, left port solid bottom actions are $1500. Mag fed actions are $1800.

Lilja and K&P make great 50 barrels.

Surplus brass and pulled bullets are actually good. IMI factory ball ammo is excellent.

Best advice, spend the big $$$ now and only cry now, not later when you kick yourself.

I have no experience with the semi’s other than plinking with a light 50 in Somalia.

Tom
AF Shooting Team

·
Registered
988 Posts
If money was fat, I would by the Windrunner, by EDM. It breaks down nicely, and is a fantastic piece. For a bolt-gun, it is high priced.

My Barrett 82a1 and 99 are a ball to shoot. If I was advising a friend to buy a gun with all the money he had, I would recommend the Barrett, it has been that reliable. If you buy one, call the plant and ask for Tony. He is a great dude, but he is gone for about 2 weeks. The 95 is next on my list...maybe the one I would buy if I owned none.

·
Registered
407 Posts
A SF unit was using barrets .50 and now ordered rifles from PGM in 338 lapua and .50. I am not familier with PGM but heard they are superior to the barrets. at 12K each, they better be.

·
Registered
705 Posts
Come on now Mr. DiFabio, with all you have penned here, about your prediliction for acquiring only the very finest of material possesions, one would have thought (at least) one Windrunner already resided in the vault of your *war room*. :razz:

But then again, you still don't own a BCP pistol either... :wink: