Pistol Smith Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shooting for 20 years, but only in the military, with 1911's, and Beretta M9's. I'm finally going to buy my own pistol, and am torn between the Glock 22 and a Walther P99 (.40 S&W). Anyone out there exposed to both, and objective enough to give me an honest assessment and recommendation? I'm going strictly by reputation and reviews in coming to these two choices. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much, Dave

·
Registered
2 Posts
Walther & Glock

I do not have any experience firing the Glock but I have handled them and they did not feel good in my hand. Glocks do have a very good dependability rating from most people. I own 2 P99's one in 9 and one in 40 both have been very dependable and they fit my hand very well. The nice thing is the adjustibility of the backstrap on the hand grip to fit various size hands. Also it has adjustable sights. I am not sure if the Glock does. Most likely a plus with the Glock would be more accesories such as lasers and lights would be available to fit it than the Walther. I would reccomend handling and firing both if possible and than make your decision.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Do you plan to carry this pistol or just shoot at the range ? I plan on getting a P99 .40 very soon... I messed with one at the gun store the other day and I loved everything about it:

* Cool trigger - Long/Safe DA... nice smooth SA.
* Second strike capability
* Decocker... with ability to recock striker easily if I want to shoot SA right off the bat
* Paddle mag release (rather than standard button)
* Adjustable backstraps for grip adjustment
* Adjustable rear site and choice of front sites
* And I just love the look of them