Pistol Smith Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings from a new member! I have a question for the world. I'm new to autoloading pistols, so I don't have much experience with these calibers. I want to pick up a new gun this summer, and I am having trouble deciding.

It's going to be between a beretta 92fs, a Steyr M40, or a Charles Daly 1911. I see a lot of posts about how people don't like the .40 caliber. Why is that?

·
Registered
138 Posts
Hello I do not dislike the 40 ( have a CZ75 SA in 40 because I could not find a 9 ) but feel like it is neither fish nor fowl. It fills a need that for myself does not exsist, it lacks the hi-cap that most 9mm's have and it offers no improvement in knock down over a 45. It may offer an advantage(reliablity) in smaller packages over the 45 but I am unsure to what degree if any that would be. This is just my opinion, if you find a 40 you like go for it.
Thanks
Gerald

G

·
Ronin,
Nothing is wrong with the .40 per say and with good bullet selection it can be as effective as any of the "top" calibers.
It is just that the .40 does not offer any significant improvements in normal pistol needs like capacity, effectiveness, trajectory, reliability, or accuracy.
The truth is that most 1st - 2nd generation .40 guns are not as reliable as their 9mm siblings. If you need a quote "big bore" handgun you probably need at least a .45acp and probably a 10mm ,if we are talking auto pistols. I do own a few dozen .40 caliber handguns and they are good compromise guns. I will admit that given a choice between a .357 magnum or a .40 I will pick the .40 every time and given the choice in Glocks between a G34 or 35 I picked the 35. I would not recomend a .40 caliber 1911, a 10mm yes but not a .40. It is your choice, pick what YOU like and train with it.

·
Registered
262 Posts