Pistol Smith Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to build a 9x23 defensive type gun with a high cap frame. Which frame would you guys say is the best to use for a new project? I have an SVI gun that I like very much, but getting something from SVI is impossible. What about a new Caspian machined high cap frame? I have an old first generation cast frame Caspian that has been a good gun. I have no experience with anything from STI. I would appreciate any advice.

·
Registered
705 Posts
Robe,

Welcome to the forum. I think I own a pistol like you have described. Check out my previous thread on my STI 9x23. You can see it here.

Interesting how many of us think a hi-cap 9x23 would be the cat's meow of carry guns. Just curious, what inspires you to seek a double stack 9x23? Do you have a single stack 9x23? For whatever reason, I think you will enjoy the round in a hi-cap form.

What SV do you have now? You do know you can buy the SV or STI as frames and have a gunsmith build the rest for you? No need to worry about what SV is willing to do -- although I am not sure what you mean by "getting something from SVI is impossible"? Anyway, from my perspective, I think either an SV or STI is the way to go for a double stack. Excellent quality and plenty of pre-ban mags are available. I would pass on the Caspian idea. If my BCP-STI Talisman is what you had in mind for a defensive gun, then I think you will be VERY happy with the end result. :smile:

DD

·
Registered
555 Posts