Pistol Smith Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to reloading, and reload primarily .45ACP for my 1911s. My wife has a S&W 640 in .357 Mag, and I recently purchased a Ruger Security Six, also a .357. I reloaded a few batches of .38s for the two wheel guns, and then decided to look into reloading .357 to take advantage of the better fit of the case in the cylinder. I have used W231 for all my reloading so far.

I found no published loads for .357 Mag using W231 and 125 gr JHPs in my Lyman Manuals, nor in the Midway .357 Loadmap. I know I have a lot to learn technically about reloading, but why is W231 not used in .357 Mag? Inquiring Minds Want to Know...

·
Registered
70 Posts
Although it technically might work (Unique does) W231 is too fast for good magnum loads. I like H110 in both the .357 and .44 magnums.

·
Registered
31 Posts
In my Speer manual there are several loads for W-231 in 357 Magnum. Also, the reloading page at the Winchester web site has several loads for 231 in 357 Mag. None of the loads are gonna break speed records and, as the other guy mentioned, H-110 or W-296 are better for pushing magnum loads.

·
Registered
3 Posts
On 2001-05-11 13:25, whitebear wrote:
I am relatively new to reloading, and reload primarily .45ACP for my 1911s. My wife has a S&W 640 in .357 Mag, and I recently purchased a Ruger Security Six, also a .357. I reloaded a few batches of .38s for the two wheel guns, and then decided to look into reloading .357 to take advantage of the better fit of the case in the cylinder. I have used W231 for all my reloading so far.

I found no published loads for .357 Mag using W231 and 125 gr JHPs in my Lyman Manuals, nor in the Midway .357 Loadmap. I know I have a lot to learn technically about reloading, but why is W231 not used in .357 Mag? Inquiring Minds Want to Know...

I have been reloading since 1958, yes I'm an old shooter.