Pistol Smith Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If my Kimber sometimes won't go fully into battery, and is stuck to the point where a smack on the rear of the slide won't move it, what might the problem be? It does this using Wilson and McCormick mags and it does not seem to be ammo specific. Is it the infamous Kimber tight chamber, perhaps? The gun would run perfectly if not for this. BTW, the gun has approx. 5-600 rounds through it, so I think it is fairly broken in.

Thanks to anyone who feels like answering what is probably a very tiresome question by now.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your response! Thinking out loud is definitely a good thing. As you can tell, I'm no expert on the 1911, nor do I pretend to know anything (trying to become a convert from Glock), and no advice is too simple for me.

I have not contacted Kimber for a couple of reasons. One is because I'm a lazy, procrastinating fellow, and two is because it is not a consistent problem. The pistol has gone a couple of hundred rounds just fine; otoh, it has done the previously described malfunction 4-5 times in 50 rounds. I'm quite sure that if Kimber asks to have it sent in, they'll test fire it, it'll work fine, and they'll send it back saying there's nothing wrong.

Maybe this particular pistol does need some more break in time? Maybe it is an extractor related problem? I dunno. Based on what you mentioned, I will ask a local gunsmith that is considered to be knowledgeable to look at it with me.

Thanks again for your thoughts on the matter. I appreciate you taking the time.

·
Registered
25 Posts
I am having the exact same problem with my Custom Classic. I have about 1200 rounds through mine and still get the failure to go into battery about twice per box. It happened more frequently at about 500-700 rounds. It doesn't happen all the time, just enough for me not to trust the gun.